The House System and Student Governance

At NiBS, all children from grades I to XII pledge allegiance to and join one of the four school houses, Ashoka, Banyan, Neem and Peepal. Tracing their founding inspiration to the sacred trees of our land, the houses provide a literal canopy of shelter for the students, encouraging them to develop both, a greater sense of personal belonging and identity and an intimate inter-connectedness with the larger school community.

The House system also provides a framework for introducing children to the functioning of a democracy and allows them to practice the principles of self-governance. Representatives from each of the four Houses along with the Head boy, Head Girl, Sports Captains and School Editor form the Student Council. Members earn their place on the Council after sharing their ‘manifestos’ and agendas with their peers and being elected by secret ballot in a process that closely resembles that of an electoral democracy. The finally elected Council works closely together with the School Leadership team, holding regular samvaads or discussions about school life, learning and culture.

Children from Classes VI to XII, in a spirit of participative democracy, meet on a weekly basis as members of different Houses and contribute to life at school in the following ways:

• Upholding the school Values of Ownership, Integrity, Collaboration and Excellence and ensuring a VOICE of sanskaar
• Taking responsibility for the planning and execution of varied school activities and ensuring effective sanchalan
• Contributing to various service initiatives by organizing fund raisers in a spirit of sanchay
• Practicing samvaad or meaningful dialogue with the school leadership to share student suggestions, concerns and thoughts.